Have Bags Reviews

Excellence award

https://writerchristophfischer.wordpress.com/2015/12/19/2015-christoph-fischer-best-non-fiction-award/

My 5* Review of: “Have Bags, Will Travel” by D.G Kaye

https://writerchristophfischer.wordpress.com/2015/10/30/review-have-bags-will-travel-by-d-g-kaye/

Have Bags kindle cover live

D.G. Kaye’s wonderful travel memoir owns as much to ‘Confessions of a Shopaholic’ as it does to popular Airline documentaries. Her sharp observations on travel customs and customs offices around the globe are accurate and well observed.
Hilarious and witty with an occasional stab at the bureaucratic and user-unfriendly ways the industry has developed, Kaye describes the fall from grace of airline travel, yet keeps it light-hearted and entertaining throughout.
I have spent 15 years in the air and have to back her up on most of her points.
As another reviewer put it:

“Much of what we endure to travel these days seems to defy logic and Kaye has a qitty way of putting things as well as a sharp, observing mind.
There are many hilarious moments as the author is stuck in customs at an airport in Venezuela, Canada or out in London and the Champs Elysee. Very enjoyable, pretty accurate and useful, thanks to the many tips at the end of the book.
This is compelling and essential travel reading.”HeadShot1

These Episodic anecdotes of travels past and present this is highly recommended.

Have Bags, Will Travel is available now in ebook at Amazon, and will soon be available in print.

There is an excerpt at D.G Kaye’s blog : Book release, amazon, Have Bags Will Travel, promotion, vacations, humor, D.G. Kaye

 

 

 

#Bookreview Have Bags, Will Travel: Trips and Tales — Memoirs of an Over-Packer by D.G. Kaye (@pokercubster) Therapeutic for travellers as it shows you it could be worse!

 

 

 

My Book Review of Have Bags, Will Travel

By  Terri Webster Shrandt

Check out Have Bags, Will Travel on Amazon!

5 stars My Five Star Review:

What I love about this novella-length book beside the fact that it’s a fast, entertaining read, is Kaye’s hilarious look inward at herself and her serious addiction to shopping. Her book reads like a series of fun blog posts, highlighting her signature, conversational style, while sharing useful travel information!

A seasoned traveler (well, except for the over-packing part—but life is short, right?), Kaye deftly reminisces her early days of travel when life was simple and “travel was a joy.” (Before TSAs!). She then describes how her obsessive shopping habit has created the need for smart packing and planning.

With everything she has purchased over the years, one would guess she has an extra house for all her goodies! Kaye’s love for travel and adventure is evident as she shares hilarious exploits and nail-biting moments on her many trips that include London, Paris, Venezuela, the Greek Islands, and on to Las Vegas and Arizona.

Kaye shares valuable advice for navigating airport security, planning for purchases and dealing with germs. Her idea of packing sockettes in her purse to wear through the TSA line after removing her shoes is brilliant.

Kaye’s chapter “Admitted Germ Freak” resonates with all of us as we hear more of the dirt, grime and germs associated with hotel rooms, public restrooms, and restaurants.

***

5 out of 5 Stars – Travelling Hints from the School of Hard Knocks
on December 8, 2016 

D.G. Kaye loves to travel and offers traveling hints and funny stories to make traveling easier for you. Have Bags, Will Travel Tips and Tales – Memoirs of an Over-packer just came out. This short, easy-to-read essay is perfect for the short plane ride or quick train trip.

Have Bags, Will Travel: Trips and Tales – Memoirs of an Over-Packer

D.G. Kaye has a long history of loving to shop when she travels. We all want to bring back something from our traveling. Right? But how much is too much? And how do we get it through customs?

D.G. Kaye packed and traveled differently in the past. How has she coped with the many changes in the travel industry? Has airport security threatened her travel buying? As you will see, she offers creative tricks to pack and still have fun shopping.

Follow D.G. Kaye and her friends as she travels to Paris, London, Las Vegas, Greece, Venezuela, and Arizona. Pay attention to her traveling hints about locations to visit. For example, she describes her reaction to the transition from old Vegas to today’s Vegas.

Have you ever traveled in a garbage can lid? Find out how it’s done, and what to wear!

Ever break a foot while traveling? It happened to D.G. and another friend of mine, too. Bad memories are often the funniest, and make the trip memorable.

Whether or not you love germs, D.G. Kaye will entertain you with her germy experiences traveling at home and abroad.

I absotively recommend Have Bags, Will Travel.

 

5 out of 5 Stars – A must read before you travel!

By Chris Graham on Dec 3 2016
Format: Kindle Edition
Germs, shoes, luggage weights, a Red Head and a Blonde in Paris, plus lots of other topics covered in this series of hilarious snippets from the travelling life of the author.

 

5 out 5 Stars – I love to Shop

on October 29, 2015
Have you ever read a book that could have been written about you? D.G. Kaye did just that.
Case#1 – She’s a shopaholic. Well, I love to shop, though maybe not as much as she does. Christmas shopping, back to school shopping, birthdays, anniversaries – I could shop for days on end. I love buying gifts for others, furniture for our home, the list is endless. The author loves to buy so much more, in fact shoes are her favorite shopping item. The problem is she shops when she travels and has to have a way to get it home without customs finding out she packed more than she is allowed to bring back. As you will see, she goes to great lengths to pack creatively.
Case #2 – the suitcase. My husband thinks my suitcases are overloaded, but I never have to pay for overweight luggage or an extra suitcase. I have a few packing tricks up my sleeve to get everything to and from with some room to spare for purchases. Ms Kaye, on the other hand, has tricks galore.
Her friends personalities are much like the author’s, and their escapades will leave you chuckling. Well, not exactly. They will have you in stitches. Follow D.G. Kaye as she travels to Paris, London, Las Vegas, Greece, Venezuela, and Arizona. You will be fascinated with her description of the transition from old Vegas to the Vegas we know today.
I’m not about to go into detail about her shopping trips, the size of her suitcase, or how she manages, or not, to get through customs. You have to read the book to find out. However, I promise, you will be laughing from page one to the end. Written with such vivid detail, you will feel you are right there watching the spectacle of someone who loves to shop too much, trying to get everything home without chucking it on the way to airport. A delightful story, HAVE BAGS, WILL TRAVEL, is a short book that can be read in one sitting.
Do I recommend HAVE BAGS, WILL TRAVEL? Absolutely!

 

5 out of 5 Stars – Have A Great Read, Will Travel

By debby on September 28, 2015

Format: Paperback

If you have just one afternoon to spare (or maybe a plane flight to endure!) and want to pass the time enjoyably, travel vicariously with D.G. Kaye. This quick read will make you smile, maybe even make you wish you were her bestie and traveling by her side. Along the way, D.G. also shares some very helpful travel tips as she nostalgically looks back at travel the way it used to be and compares it to the hectic pace of today. If you’re an over-shopper, as she is, you’ll laugh along with her as she works overtime to figure out how to travel with those overweight bags. Just good fun! (Like you wish travel still was!)
5 out of 5 Stars – Great Airport Read

By Carol Balawyder

Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Be prepared to have your heart chuckling and your lips smiling as you read through D.G. Kaye’s delightful travel adventures. Although the main theme of the book is on her affection for shopping it’s also a memoire like no other as she holds your hand and guides you through her trips to Paris, London, Greece, Venezuela and Vegas. You meet her friends who are almost as zany as she is while she ponders on the good old days of travelling and her sadness to see the old charm of her beloved Vegas fade away. Oh, but the girl can get into trouble, especially when it comes to exceeding the airline’s weight limits on luggage.
For those of you who are familiar with D.G. you will recognize her quirky sense of humor and her authentic voice in this travelogue. It’s refreshing and relaxing. I dare anyone to read it and not laugh at how she gets out of her cross border shopping dilemmas.
A great airport read!
5 out of 5 Stars – A Winning Combination
By Nicholas C. Rossis on October 12, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
As it happens, I read this in an airplane, so I had to chuckle at the many similarities between my reality and Kaye’s pointed remarks. To me, reading it was the equivalent of eavesdropping into a girls’ night, listening to their stories and hearing them laugh at silly things they’ve done. All this in a warm and smiling context that doesn’t take itself too seriously. If that’s not a winning combination, I don’t know what is.
5 out 5 Stars – Essential Travel Reading

By bookworm on October 15, 2015

Format: Kindle Edition

After years of working in the travel industry I can only second many of Kaye’s pointed observations and comic descriptions of travels past and present. Much of what we endure to travel these days seems to defy logic and Kaye has a qitty way of putting things as well as a sharp, observing mind.
There are many hilarious moments as the author is stuck in customs at an airport in Venezuela, Canada or out in London and the Champs Elysee. Very enjoyable, pretty accurate and useful, thanks to the many tips at the end of the book.
Compelling and essential travel reading.
5 out of 5 Stars – 5 Well-Packed Suitcases
on December 8, 2015
This is a not a long book but you will find D.G. Kaye packed it the same way that she does her suitcases when on one of her frequent trips. Overflowing with hilarious encounters with custom officers and bemused check-in agents, crammed with memories of travelling companions and skillfully closed with an in-depth look at one of her favourite destinations; Las Vegas.
International travel is no longer straightforward; so a little humour goes a very long way. D.G. Kaye relives those halcyon days when passengers were welcomed with open arms, allowed some leeway on number of bags and their weight instead of being herded through various lines to be interrogated. But if you are going to travel, then take advice from an expert; relieve some of the stress.
Like many women, I find that shoes, handbags and the odd bit of jewellery have an added touch of glamour when you are infected with holiday fever. It seems almost impossible to pass by and not take home a memento. Trouble is today the airlines have weight and size of both check in baggage and carry-on locked down tight. This is where the expertise of the seasoned traveller comes in. And D.G. Kaye is certainly that. Having learned lessons from her run-ins you can benefit from her ‘how to’ pack your bags to get a little extra through the system.
I have visited Las Vegas a number of times through the decades but not for the last fifteen years so I was intrigued by the up to date review. Not sure that I am tempted to go there again but it was great to revisit through D.G’s experiences.
Overall Have Bags, Will Travel is a delightful book and a terrific read on the outbound flight so that you can strategize for your return
.
D.G. Kaye

DGKayewriter.com Copyright 2017

©2017

Help spread kindness and positivity!

#WATWB
Join us at #WATWB by clicking on the image.
Nominated Blog 2017

Visit my Flipboard Magazine on all things Writing

© 2014 Frontier Theme