P.S. I Forgive You – New Reviews

From the Editor:

 

“As someone who’s had the pleasure of reading your previous books, I felt this one was an effective bookend of the journey you began in Conflicted Hearts. I’m sure your readers will likewise appreciate the closure and relate to the dilemmas you and your siblings faced toward the end of your mother’s life. Death brings out different reactions in all of us, but the openness of your writing encourages readers to honestly explore their emotions and perhaps find peace with aspects of their own pasts. Thank you for the opportunity to work on this book!” – Talia Leduc

 

Editorial Review:

 

“It is challenging to write about emotional pain and to revisit events, times when you felt powerless. Not everyone is courageous enough to undertake such a task. D.G. Kaye bravely faces her childhood and her relationship with her mother, sharing this complex experience with us in her memoir P.S. I Forgive You: A Broken Legacy.

Kaye writes from a place of maturity and strength, bringing hope to others who need to find forgiveness to heal.”—Sally Cronin, Turning Back the Clock

 

on April 13, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase

Why forgive? Isn’t it extremely hard to do so? This question reverberates around me even after reading the most poignant account of D.G. Kaye who had nobody to turn to for love, care and affection.

When a child’s mother is selfish and self-centered, when she blames and threatens her own daughter, when emotional abuse almost breaks the spirit of a girl who tries her best to please her mother, forgiveness is a far cry.

Forgiveness is the most intransigent emotion, the most hurting feeling, rekindling the sensation of being victimized; highlighting the supremacy and the arrogance of our perpetrator yet Kaye emerges resilient, responsible, benevolent and at peace after she decides to let go all the grief that had eaten into the best hours of her life.

‘P.S. I Forgive You’ is the story of every child who is deprived of a loving childhood due to insensitive parenting. It could inspire a thousand mothers to be emotionally present, to be more understanding and loving and pay attention to the little concerns of their children.

My heart missed a beat when I read how Kaye is torn between guilt and duty to go and see her dying mother and decides to go to her father’s grave “to speak to my dad about current goings on in my life and update him on family matters,” she confides.

“I feel lifeless, I miss you, mama. I miss everything I didn’t have from you. Still I am sorry. I forgive you.”…That sums up the distressing memories of the author whose grief and guilt merge into each other at the death of her mother.

 

Mindful Monday – P. S. I Forgive You, by D. G. Kaye

My Review of P.S. I Forgive You: A Broken Legacy by D.G. Kaye

on March 12, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase

How many of us come from dysfunctional families? I know I certainly came from one. However, when you are the child of a narcissistic mother, those wounds fester and bleed well into adulthood becoming baggage that hangs around your heart. Almost certainly, these feelings are accompanied by guilt and a desire to understand why a mother could treat her own flesh and blood in such a demeaning way. Especially, when you would never think of treating your own children with such disdain.

This is the author’s journey to redemption. She sets out to explain the reasons why her mother treated her and her siblings in such a derogatory manner. What she discovers is her own strength and determination to come to grips with the revelations that none of this treatment was her fault. The final realizations pivot the reader to experience the liberation of a survivor, first hand, with empathy and compassion for the author and her family.

I followed D. G. Kaye’s path into a state of mindfulness, where she focuses on the present while acknowledging and accepting her feelings and thoughts from the past. At times, I cried right along with the family, feeling old emotions of my own boil to the surface. Ultimately, the story ends when understanding is achieved and the only avenue left is that of forgiveness.

This is a poignant novel filled with inspiration and strength. By the end of the story, I felt like D. G. Kaye, and I had become close friends, and she was telling me that my hunt to dispell my own childhood demons was going to be all right. If you have a narcissistic family member, this is the book for you. Believe me, you will never feel alone again.

MY RATING:
Character Believability: 5
Flow and Pace: 5
Reader Engagement: 5
Reader Enrichment: 5
Reader Enjoyment: 5
Overall Rate: 5 out of 5 stars
P.S. I Forgive You: A Broken Legacy

 

My Review: By Judith Barrow

When I reviewed  D. G Kaye’s Conflicted Hearts (http://amzn.to/2iqL3Wc) I wrote “I laughed and cried with D.G.Kaye and finally,applauded her. A wonderful book from a woman of great strength.” On reading P.S I Forgive You  I can only reiterate those words yet also add that the author reveals a great wisdom in the acceptance and forgiveness for what she endured in the past (none of which she could control). Her words show an inner peace that many of us, who have been in the same circumstances, may never reach.

There is such honesty  in D. G Kaye’s writing.   P.S I Forgive You  is threaded through with sorrow. But it’s not a self-serving or selfish sadness, it’s a  lament for a parent who never had any self awareness, who never grew away from that belief we all have as a child; that the world revolves around us. Over riding all that this is an account that reveals understanding and compassion for the author’s mother.

This is an empowering book; a must read for anyone trying to make peace with their past in an effort to making the most of the future.

 

5 Stars – A Heart Wrenching Decision to Forgive

on January 6, 2017

P.S. I Forgive You: A Broken Legacy is a journal of a rollercoaster of emotions displayed by this author as she deals with a narcissistic mother. This is journey through life to survive without love and care from a mother who was incapable of loving anyone but herself.

The author opens her heart to the reader as her emotions pour out. She does all she can to make amends but to no avail and is forced to forgive her unfeeling mother and repair the damage done to her and her siblings.

This book is a catharsis to anyone who has had to live with this kind of parent. It helps them deal with the myriad emotions that continue to bubble up inside and threaten to suffocate oneself.

My heart goes out to this child and her siblings who somehow managed to be strong and resilient even though they were never taught the essentials of parenting and the love that is needed to bring up a child. The author has shown remarkable strength and courage to face head-on the torments that continually threaten her very soul. I recommend this book to anyone who has yet to feel closure from an unhealthy relationship.

 

5 Stars – A Great Companion for Conflicted Hearts

on January 12, 2017

This book makes an excellent companion to D.G’s Conflicted Hearts. As a memoir writer I completely understand the emotional turmoil of reliving a very dark past without even getting into some of the physical consequences as one deals with the psychological traumas. Yet, it’s all worth the effort when the writer feels healing for deep wounds. Scars we can deal with, but wounds tend to fester.

The continuing healing process one experiences after reliving the past is what P.S. I Forgive You is all about. One has built the courage to let the truth be known, but now one has face up to those with whom the truth bares.

 

5 Stars – How to Survive Life (and death) with a Narcissistic Parent

By Jacqui Murray VINE VOICE on January 2, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase

Originally a sequel to Conflicted Hearts: A Daughter’s Quest for Solace from Emotional Guilt, PS I Forgive You (Amazon Digital Services 2016) became a stand-alone final chapter to D.G. Kaye’s emotional story about surviving a narcissistic mother. You can feel Kaye’s strength as she’s forced to break off communication with her mother as a last-ditch effort to protect her own mental health–even as her mother is dying. If you come from a loving supportive family (like I do), it’s very difficult to understand the damage caused by this sort of emotional abuse, but through Kaye’s eyes, I felt it. Suffered it. At one point, Kaye mentioned a concern that her mother might read what admittedly was a less than flattering book about her, but I already knew enough about her mother to know that she would never either read her daughter’s published words or listen to them.

That is how powerful this story is: I feel like I knew both Kaye and her mother well by the time I turned the last page. Highly recommended by anyone with a narcissistic family member. This will help you.

 

STEVIE TURNER’S REVIEW OF ‘P.S, I FORGIVE YOU’, BY D. G KAYE.

I am a fan of biographies and autobiographies, and I must say I really enjoyed D.G Kaye’s P.S I Forgive You.

D.G Kaye and her siblings had the misfortune to be raised by a narcissistic and emotionally neglectful mother, who’d had exactly the same upbringing herself and so possibly considered her behaviour to be normal, knowing no other kind.  This type of upbringing leaves mental scars on the recipients, which Ms Kaye suffered from for years until she was old enough to learn some insight into her mother’s behaviour.

I have a cousin, who is one of 4 children who were all unwanted ‘accidents’.  My aunt not only suffered from post-natal depression, but she was also emotionally neglectful, just like the author’s mother.  One child grew up exactly like her mother, one was cowed and never left home, and the other two went as far away from their mother as they could.  Therefore I understand completely why Ms Kaye distanced herself in her mother’s later years, as it was the only way she could achieve peace of mind.

We grow in wisdom as we age, and with this insight comes forgiveness.  Ms Kaye can obviously never forget her troubled childhood, but I applaud her for finding the inner peace which my cousins were never able to do.  An inspirational memoir, which was shorter than I’d hoped, but still a five star read!

 

5 Stars – Christoph Fischer

Review: “P.S. I FORGIVE YOU” by D.G. Kaye

I’m a declared fan of DG Kaye and expected nothing less as the moving, touching and inspiring memoir she has delivered here. Plagued by a narcistic mother and the effect of this on her own life, DG Kaye tells with honesty and great psychological insight into the situation about her ordeals, then and more recent, brought on by the troubled relationship.
This is heart breaking and heart-mending at the same time.
This is an important book that should be read by many who are struggling to forgive and move on. It’s not an easy task but one very well worth your while.

The book itself is a compelling read, the short chapters drawing you in and speaking to your heart. Wonderful, written woith great wisdom and insight – and, most importantly of all, forgiveness.
A must read for anyone looking to make peace with their past and move forward.

 

By Amazon Customer on Oct. 19 2016

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I purchased “P.S. I Forgive You” this last night on Amazon (Kindle – as I wanted to read it right away). I could not put the book down and after 3 and 1/2 hours I finally had to go to bed (2:30 am). It was well written and surely from the bottom of D.G. Kaye’s heart! A story so sad that a mother was so taken with herself that she had not time to love her children they way a mother should. I am so sorry to hear you had to go through this heartache your whole life. I know family and friends that have endured similar experiences but never had the opportunity to be able write it down in a book. I will finish the book today and I am still reading…it really is mindboggling and sad. The hurt has carried through to all her siblings and in many ways will never go away. But Kaye had finally found peace and could forgive her mother….that in itself is a step to recovery! Thinking of you D. G. Kaye and all your family to a healthy and long lasting relationship in the future going forward. Thank you so much for sharing your life experience with us all. We do cherish the fact that this was a very hard thing to do, but it needed to be done. Peace be with you always…..Smile and tomorrow is a new day. …submitted by Judy Hagadorn

 

5 Stars CarolBalawyder.com

 

Like all of D.G. Kaye’s books, I was eager to read her latest – a follow up to Conflicted Heart.  P.S. I Forgive You – A Broken Legacy  is Kaye’s most heart wrenching and intense book to date. Not surprising, considering the subject of this memoir.  It is D.G. Kaye’s and her siblings’ attempt of freeing themselves from the clutches of emotional neglect.

P.S. I Forgive You – A Broken Legacy is a testimony to the painful effects of her mother’s gambling addiction on her and her siblings. Anyone who has lived with an addict knows how destructive it can be, how much it creates guilt, resentment and a feeling of low self esteem.

P.S. I Forgive You  is heartbreaking to read but D.G. Kaye’s strength and ability to offer an honest examination of her experience is an inspiration to anyone who has found themselves with the difficult decision of turning away from a toxic relationship. Most importantly, in Kaye’s difficult journey to self love and acceptance she offers hope in her struggle to love a mother who was not able to provide the same for her children.

A tender, well written book.

 

5 StarsThe power of forgiveness

on September 30, 2016

Format: Kindle Edition 

I purchased this book expecting a sequel to D. G Kaye’s Conflicted Hearts which I loved but P.S I Forgive You is a different book. You get the sense that this book is written by an author who has grown, both in her writing and the feelings she has shared with her readers.

When I finished reading P.S I Love you, I knew that I had enjoyed the book immensely but at the same time I felt bereft; very similar to what I had experienced when I had lost my own parents. Just a sad feeling. At first the feeling confused me and then I realized that Kaye’s writing was so genuine, so acute and so heartfelt that she had made me feel the confusion, the grief, the process and most importantly the peace, right a long with her! She writes straight up, with no pretensions and it is intensely personal so you want to stay with her until the very end.

Her childhood was was one that nobody would choose but at the same time there is no self pity in her words. Her story weaves you through the process of grieving for a mother that never allowed her to be a child and the absolute importance of forgiveness, both for her and her mother.

P.S I Forgive You is a daughter’s trials, tribulations, family coming together and the grief of forever partings but most of all it is about being ok with yourself and the power of peace that comes with the long road to forgiveness. I loved it!

 

5 Stars Inspiring and moving 

By Molly Flanders on October 13, 2016

Format: Paperback
A moving, touching and inspiring memoir about the author’s struggle and final resolve to forgive her narcistic mother. She describes with honesty the effect of this on her own life.
Wonderful, written with great wisdom and insight – and, most importantly of all, forgiveness.
A must read for anyone looking to make peace with their past and move forward
D.G. Kaye

DGKayewriter.com Copyright 2017

©2017

Help spread kindness and positivity!

#WATWB
Join us at #WATWB by clicking on the image.
Nominated Blog 2017

Visit my Flipboard Magazine on all things Writing

© 2014 Frontier Theme